Borage (plant)

This perennial herbaceous plant, densely covered with short hairs, gives the impression of a vicious weed. Its scientific Latin name - Borago officinalis - appeared due to these hairs, as burra is the Latin for "short hair" or "bristle". Sometimes in Belarusian or Russian it can be called "bourachnik", although it has nothing in common with the beetroot (in Belarusian the word 'beetroot' sounds like 'bourak'), it is an only slightly modified scientific name. And the most wide-spread name of the plant is borage. The leaves emit rather strong cucumber scent, and the taste of this plant reminds of a cucumber with a touch of an onion.

The birthplace of borage is considered to be Syria. From there it gradually spread throughout the former Roman Empire, and then almost throughout whole Eurasia, apart from the coldest regions. Borage juice and leaf salads improve heart activity, normalize metabolism, animate, and have an anti-inflammatory effect on the body. Therefore, borage had a reputation as a tonic that supposedly improves mood, improves attention, etc.

Roman legionnaires were given an infusion of borage before decisive battles as a kind of "elixir of courage", and this idea penetrated deeply into Western culture, contributing to a significant expansion of the initial dispersal area.

Many centuries ago, borage got into the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth, where it was used, in addition to making salads, for pickling cucumbers. In general, there are numerous ways to use the plant in cooking.

Large, strongly wrinkled leaves (sometimes flowers) of borage are used in spring salads (in Germany, such salads are usually prepared with dill, and a special "green sauce" is also made from borage. In France and Italy, they add it to stews and soups. The stalk, peeled from the skin, is boiled as vegetables and mashed to be served as a side dish to fish or meat). In Britain and North America, the leaves are used as an ingredient in soft drinks and alcoholic cocktails (often combined with mint), and are also added to some types of gin. In China, the dish, like cabbage rolls or dalma, is cooked with borage leaves. And this is only a short, far incomplete list of gastronomic opportunities of borage.

Also, borage is an excellent honey plant and an extremely useful "companion" for potatoes and tomatoes, because many pests of these plants, including the Colorado beetle, can not stand the smell of borage.

In modern medicine, this plant is used in the treatment of bronchitis, colds, inflammation of internal organs (in particular, kidneys) and rheumatic diseases. Borage seed oil has found the greatest use: among other plants, it has almost the greatest amount of polyunsaturated fatty acids, in particular "omega-3" and "omega-6". It is used for the prevention and auxiliary therapy of atherosclerosis and to stimulate the adrenal glands, especially after serious stressful situations or taking steroid hormones. Even the ancient belief in the "elixir of courage" found to some extent the scientific confirmation: borage seed oil promotes the production of beta-endorphins in the brain, which have a direct impact on the overall mood and emotional state.

Years ago, in Belarus, borage was much more widely used than today. Famous ethnographer Michal Fedorovsky wrote that at the end of the XIX century in Western Belarus, they were very fond of a spring salad made from borage leaves and seasoned with green onions, salt and sour cream. Such a dish and, accordingly, the cultivation of borage in gardens were once especially common in the area of Slonim. So, if nowadays one set out to revive authentic regional dishes, one would need to consider this evidence of Fedorovsky.

Агурочнік (расліна)

Belarusian Association Country Escape
Belarus, Minsk, vulica Dunina-Marcinkieviča, 6
E-mail: info@ruralbelarus.by
Website: www.ruralbelarus.by
Other Projects
Greenways.by
Volozhin4all.by

This website was updated and maintained with the financial support of the European Union in the frame of Project Nr. ENI-LLB-1-016 "Preservation and Promotion of Culinary Heritage and Traditional Skills" (BELLA CULTURE).
Its contents are the sole responsibility of Belarusian Association of Rural and Ecotourism "Country Escape" and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union.

Огуречник (растение)

Это многолетнее травянистое растение, густо покрытое шершавыми волосками, производит впечатление злобного сорняка. От этих волосков происходит его научное латинское название - Borago offіcіnalіs, ведь burra по латыни "жесткие волосы" или "щетина". Иногда по-белорусски или по-русски ее называют "бурачник", хотя со свеклой она не имеет ничего общего, это лишь немножко видоизмененное научное название. А наиболее распространенное название - огуречник, огуречная трава. От листьев идет довольно сильный аромат огурца, да и вкусом это растение напоминает огурец с нотками лука.

Родиной огуречника считается Сирия, откуда он постепенно распространился по всей бывшей Римской Империи, а потом чуть ли не по всей Евразии, кроме самых холодных регионов. Сок и салаты из листьев улучшают деятельность сердца, нормализуют обмен веществ, придают бодрость, оказывают противовоспалительное действие на организм. Поэтому огуречник был известен как тонизирующее средство, которое якобы поднимает настроение, улучшает внимание и т. д.

Римским легионерам давали настой огуречника перед решающими сражениями как своеобразный "эликсир мужества", и это представление глубоко проникло в западную культуру, поспособствовав значительному расширению начального ареала.

Много веков назад попал огуречник и в Речь Посполитую, где его использовали, помимо добавления в салаты, при мариновании огурцов. А вообще способов использования растения в кулинарии есть уйма.

Большие сильно сморщенные листья (иногда и цветки) огуречника применяют в весенних салатах (в Германии такие салаты обычно готовят с укропом, а также делают из огуречника специальный «зеленый соус». Во Франции и Италии его добавляют в тушеные блюда и варят супы. Стебель, очищенный от кожицы, отваривают как овощи и протирают в пюре, которое подают как гарнир к рыбе или мясу). В Великобритании и Северной Америке листья используются как ингредиент прохладительных напитков и алкогольных коктейлей (часто в сочетании с мятой), а также добавляют в некоторые сорта джина. В Китае с листьями огуречника готовят блюдо вроде голубцов или далмы. И это лишь краткий, далеко неполный перечень гастрономических возможностей огуречника.

Также огуречник - отличный медонос, а еще — чрезвычайно полезный «компаньон» для картофеля и помидоров, ведь многие вредители этих растений, в том числе колорадский жук, не выносят запаха огуречника.

В современной медицине это растение используется при лечении бронхита, простуды, воспалений внутренних органов (в частности, почек), ревматических заболеваний. Наибольшее применение нашло масло из семян огуречника - один из рекордсменов среди растительных экстрактов по количеству полиненасыщенных жирных кислот, в частности «Омега-3» и «Омега-6». Его применяют в целях профилактики и вспомогательной терапии атеросклероза и ради стимулирования работы надпочечников, особенно после серьезных стрессовых ситуаций или приема стероидных гормонов. Даже античная вера в "эликсир мужества" в определенной степени нашла научное подтверждение: масло из семян огуречника способствует выработке бета-эндорфинов в головном мозге, оказывающих непосредственное влияние на общее настроение и эмоциональное состояние.

В старину в Беларуси огуречник использовался в пищу гораздо шире, чем сегодня. Известный этнограф Михал Федоровский записал, что в конце XIX века на западе Беларуси очень любили весенний салат из листьев огуречника, приправленный зеленым луком, солью и сметаной. Такое блюдо и, соответственно, культивирование огуречника в огородах когда-то были особенно распространены в окрестностях Слонима, поэтому если бы там сегодня задались целью возродить документально подтвержденные региональные блюда, то нужно было бы обратить внимание и на это свидетельство Федоровского.

Агурочнік (расліна)

Комментарии

Белорусское общественное объединение Отдых в деревне
Беларусь, Минск, ул. Дунина-Марцинкевича, 6
E-mail: info@ruralbelarus.by
Веб-сайт: www.ruralbelarus.by
Контактные телефоны
(+375 17) 318-04-65
(+375 17) 319-01-74
(+375 44) 590-19-10
Другие проекты
Greenways.by
Volozhin4all.by

Этот веб-сайт модернизирован и поддерживается при финансовой поддержке Европейского Союза в рамках проекта Nr. ENI-LLB-1-016 «Сохранение и содействие продвижению кулинарного наследия и традиционных ремёсел» (BELLA CULTURE).
Его содержание является исключительной ответственностью Белорусского общественного объединения «Отдых в деревне» и не является отражением официальной позиции Европейского Союза.