Litovsky ('Lithuanian') Cheese

The popularity of Lithuanian cheese was mentioned by Frantishek Bogushevich in St. Petersburg weekly newspaper "Krai" on September 18, 1888: "The current "Industrial and agricultural exhibition" introduces 270 exhibits, among which... there are 8 dairy products (mainly cheese, the so-called Lithuanian cheese, whose production was started by Brakhotskaya 29 years ago in Gorodea town)". If we substract 29 years from year 1888, we get the date of the beginning of the tradition of Lithuanian rennet cheese making - 1859. It turns out that Brakhotsky sisters took up cheese-making immediately after their father's death in 1858. This is indirectly confirmed by the report of the officer of the Russian General staff, I. Zelensky, who wrote in 1864: "A lot of attention is paid to the maintenance and breeding of cows by landowners, especially in Novogrudok, Slutsk and Pinsk counties. In the first of them, namely, in the estates of count Hreptovich (Shchorsy) and landowner Brachotsky (Gorodea), excellent cheese is produced, which is sold in cities for 20 kopecks per pound. Brachotsky's cheese is known for its wonderful qualities even in Vilnius.

According to Bogushevich's information, Lithuanian cheese production spread from Minsk province to Vilna – just like that, and not the other way round! This, of course, is pleasant to hear for the fans of our litvinism, but in fact there is no connection with the mythical “Slavic-speaking Litvins of Vytautas". However, there is a certain regularity and historical logic in the fact that Novogrudchyna - the land of Reitan and Kosciusko, Mickiewicz and Syrokomlia - was the first in long-standing historical Lithuania to introduce the new technology into our region. So gradually, applying the production to the local climatic conditions and microbiological features, a new type of cheese emerged, which we could be justly proud of, but... Lithuanian cheese is no more here, so we are proud of other things.

The production of Lithuanian cheeses has never been a "folk art" — cheese-making in the European style was technologically too complex not only for post-reform peasants, but also for the old-world noblemen. New cheeses were produced only by professional (or semi-professional) cheesemakers and were intended exclusively for sale. Calling them Lithuanian, buyers in distant capitals either did not know that they came from Western Belarus, or did not see the difference between it and ethnic Lithuania - at the hight of Lithuanian cheese-making, the name "Belarus" had not yet spread so far to the West. Later, in the 1930s, Jan Chislnersky wrote:

"A certain type of cheese was made, which was different from Edam and possessed certain original features. The shape was spherical or barrel-shaped, the weight was about 2 kg; the crust was kept moist, covered with ointment; the flesh of cheeses was juicy, tasted more like Gouda cheese than Edam cheese, elastic, with a few holes of the size of peas. The maturation was faster than that of Edam cheeses, because it was made from fat local milk (more than 3.8% fat), and not from rare milk, as later became customary.

Belarusian Association Country Escape
Belarus, Minsk, vulica Dunina-Marcinkieviča, 6
E-mail: info@ruralbelarus.by
Website: www.ruralbelarus.by
Other Projects
Greenways.by
Volozhin4all.by

This website was updated and maintained with the financial support of the European Union in the frame of Project Nr. ENI-LLB-1-016 "Preservation and Promotion of Culinary Heritage and Traditional Skills" (BELLA CULTURE).
Its contents are the sole responsibility of Belarusian Association of Rural and Ecotourism "Country Escape" and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union.

Литовский сыр

Популярность литовского сыра зафиксировал в своем посте из Вильнюса в санктпетербургском еженедельнике “Край” от 18 сентября 1888 г. Франтишек Богушевич: "Нынешняя "Промышленно-сельскохозяйственная выставка" знакомит с 270 экспонатами, из которых... молочных продуктов 8 (преимущественно сыр, так называемый Литовский, который 29 лет назад начала производить в Городее Брахоцкая)". Если отсчитать от 1888 года 29 лет, получаем дату начала традиции литовского сычужного сыроварения: 1859 год. Получается, что сестры Брахоцкие занялись сыроварством сразу после смерти отца в 1858 г. Косвенно это подтверждается донесением офицера российского Генерального штаба И. Зеленского, который в 1864 г. писал: "На содержание и разведение коров у помещиков обращается много внимания, особенно в Новогрудском, Слуцком и Пинском уездах. В первом из них, а именно в имениях графа Хрептовича (Щорсы) и помещика Брахоцкого (Городея) производится отличный сыр, который продается в городах по 20 коп. за фунт. Сыр Брахоцкого известен своими замечательными качествами даже в Вильнюсе".

Как свидетельствует информация Богушевича, из Минской губернии мода на производство литовского сыра перекинулась на Виленскую – именно так, а не наоборот! Это, конечно, приятно слышать поклонникам нашего неказистого литвинизма, но на самом деле связи с мифическими “славяноязычными литвинами Витовта” здесь нет никакой. Впрочем, есть некая закономерность и историческая логика в том, что именно Новогрудчина - край Рейтана и Костюшко, Мицкевича и Сырокомли - первой в давней исторической Литве внедрила у себя новую для нашего края технологию. Так постепенно, применив производство к здешним климатическим условиям и микробиологическим особенностям возник новый сорт сыра, которым мы могли бы с полным правом гордиться, но... Литовского сыра больше нет, и мы гордимся другими вещами.

Изготовление литовских сыров никогда не было "народным промыслом" — сыроварство на европейский тип было слишком сложным технологически не только для пореформенного крестьянина, но и для старосветского шляхтича. Новые сыры производились только профессиональными (или полупрофессиональными) сыроварами и предназначались исключительно на сбыт. Называя их литовскими, покупатели в далеких столицах или не знали, что они происходят из Западной Беларуси, или не видели разницы между нею и этнической Литвой - во времена расцвета литовского сыроделия название Беларусь еще не распространилось так далеко на Запад. Позже, в 1930-х гг., Ян Числнерский напишет:

Образовался определенный тип сыра, который отличался от эдамского и которому нельзя было отказать в определенных самобытных чертах. Форма была шаровая или бочкообразная, вес около 2 кг; корка удержанная влажно, покрытая мазью; мякоть здоровых сыров сочная, вкусом напоминала скорее сыр Гауда, чем эдамский, эластичная, с немногочисленными дырками размером с горох. Дозревал быстрее, чем эдамские сыры, потому что был изготовлен из жирного тамошнего молока (более 3.8 % жирности), а не из редкого, как позже вошло в обычай.

Комментарии

Белорусское общественное объединение Отдых в деревне
Беларусь, Минск, ул. Дунина-Марцинкевича, 6
E-mail: info@ruralbelarus.by
Веб-сайт: www.ruralbelarus.by
Контактные телефоны
(+375 17) 318-04-65
(+375 17) 319-01-74
(+375 44) 590-19-10
Другие проекты
Greenways.by
Volozhin4all.by

Этот веб-сайт модернизирован и поддерживается при финансовой поддержке Европейского Союза в рамках проекта Nr. ENI-LLB-1-016 «Сохранение и содействие продвижению кулинарного наследия и традиционных ремёсел» (BELLA CULTURE).
Его содержание является исключительной ответственностью Белорусского общественного объединения «Отдых в деревне» и не является отражением официальной позиции Европейского Союза.