Mir Gingerbread Cookies

This aromatic delicacy has a long history and the national product status in many European countries. Gingerbread production was also established in Belarus — mainly in cities and towns. Gingerbread cookies were backed in Orsha, Kopys, Dubrovno, Minsk, and the gingerbread cookies from Mir in the shape of soldiers were sought after at fairs. The best flour, honey and, of course, spices, such as cinnamon, ginger, cloves, lemon and orange zest, were used for the production of the gingerbread cookies. After baking, the gingerbread cookies of various shapes were glazed, decorated with colored cream and food colourants. They often turned out to be so beautiful that it was a pity to eat them. It is not for nothing that gingerbread cookies production is considered a folk artistic craft.

The most ancient method of forming gingerbread cookies is printing. To get a figured pattern on a delicacy, they used a special wooden form, where a necessary figure was cut out in the counter-relief technique. One can make an original gingerbread cookie in this way from a prefabricated dough at the Museum of Torun Gingerbread in Poland - the cookies are baked while visitors explore the exhibition. At the end of the tour, everyone gets a gift prepared by themselves, which, unfortunately, can only be used as a souvenir. Edible Torun gingerbread cookies are sold in every store in the city. In the early twentieth century, bakers began to use new techniques for making gingerbread cookies - a figure was cut out with sharp-edged tin stamps on a flat rolled piece of dough. The ready gingerbread cookies were decorated. Gingerbread cookies were also formed by hand, but this process was quite slow and time-consuming.

The Belarusian gingerbread industry declined in the mid-twentieth century. Now with the emergence of private gingerbread workshops, gingerbread is beginning to revive. "Pernik.by" project produces delicious and beautiful gingerbread from natural ingredients for any occasion and to fit every taste. To taste the fragrant gingerbread cookies and zephyr, you should visit "Zhorny" bakery, whose owners preserve and develop the Belarusian culinary tradition. Gingerbread cookies are made by hand there. On a mass scale, gingerbread cookies are made at bread factories. One of the major ones is Molodechno factory "Konfa". Its assortment includes more than 20 types of classic choux gingerbread cookies, as well as other pastry with nuts, honey, dried apricots and plums.

Belarusian Association Country Escape
Belarus, Minsk, vulica Dunina-Marcinkieviča, 6
E-mail: info@ruralbelarus.by
Website: www.ruralbelarus.by
Other Projects
Greenways.by
Volozhin4all.by

This website was updated and maintained with the financial support of the European Union in the frame of Project Nr. ENI-LLB-1-016 "Preservation and Promotion of Culinary Heritage and Traditional Skills" (BELLA CULTURE).
Its contents are the sole responsibility of Belarusian Association of Rural and Ecotourism "Country Escape" and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union.

Мирские пряники

Это ароматное лакомство имеет долгую историю и статус национального во многих европейских странах. Занимались изготовлением пряников и в Беларуси — преимущественно в городах и местечках. Пряники выпекали в Орше, Копыси, Дубровно, Минске. На ярмарках пользовались спросом мирские пряники в виде солдатиков. Для пряников использовали лучшую муку, мед и, конечно, специи — корицу, имбирь, гвоздику, лимонную и апельсиновую цедру. После выпечки пряники разных форм глязировали, украшали цветным кремом и пищевыми красителями. Часто получалась такая красота, которую жалко было есть. Недаром изготовление пряников причисляют к народным художественным промыслам.

Наиболее древний способ формовки пряников - печатный. Чтобы получить на лакомстве фигурный узор пользовались специальной деревянной формой, где в технике контр-рельефа вырезали нужную фигуру. Сделать авторский пряник таким образом из заранее приготовленного теста предлагают в Музее пряника в польском городе Торуни — лакомства пекутся, пока посетители знакомятся с экспозицией. В конце экскурсии каждый получает в подарок свое изделие, которое, к сожалению, можно использовать только как сувенир. Съедобные же торуньские пряники продаются в любом магазине города. В начале ХХ века для приготовления пряников пекари начинают применять абразивную технику - фигурку вырезали жестяными штампами с острыми краями на плоско раскатанном куске теста , а готовые пряники отделывали. Формировали пряники и от руки, однако процесс этот был достаточно медленным и трудоемким.

Промысел белорусских пряников пришел в упадок в середине ХХ века. Сейчас с возникновением частных пряничных мастерских это "ремесло" начинает возрождаться. Проект pernik.by производит вкусные и красивые пряники из натуральных ингредиентов по любому поводу и на любой вкус. Чтобы попробовать ароматные пряники и легкий зефир стоит заглянуть в пекарню Žorny, хозяева которой хранят и развивают белорусскую кулинарную традицию. Выпекают пряники вручную и отдельные мастера. В массовом масштабе изделием пряников занимаются на хлебопекарных заводах. Один из крупнейших производителей - Молодечненская "Конфа". В ассортименте фабрики свыше 20 сортов классических заварных пряников, а также сладостей с добавлением орехов, меда, кураги, чернослива.

Комментарии

Белорусское общественное объединение Отдых в деревне
Беларусь, Минск, ул. Дунина-Марцинкевича, 6
E-mail: info@ruralbelarus.by
Веб-сайт: www.ruralbelarus.by
Контактные телефоны
(+375 17) 318-04-65
(+375 17) 319-01-74
(+375 44) 590-19-10
Другие проекты
Greenways.by
Volozhin4all.by

Этот веб-сайт модернизирован и поддерживается при финансовой поддержке Европейского Союза в рамках проекта Nr. ENI-LLB-1-016 «Сохранение и содействие продвижению кулинарного наследия и традиционных ремёсел» (BELLA CULTURE).
Его содержание является исключительной ответственностью Белорусского общественного объединения «Отдых в деревне» и не является отражением официальной позиции Европейского Союза.